After Effects missing from new project

I’m still pretty new to getting a toolkit project set up. The first one I made seemed to behave. I made one yesterday and followed the prompts. However, After Effects is missing from the list on SG desktop. I have photoshop and Mari(which is not installed) on there. Where do I need to enable it for that project and what did I do wrong?

2 Likes

Hi Byron!

(First off a quick mention that I moved your post to the Pipeline Integrations category so the right people see it.)

Now, as for getting After Effects to show up in Desktop – you can manage this via Software entities within Shotgun. Specifically, you should be able to add a Software entity for After Effects in Shotgun, and it should then show up in Desktop.

This section of the Toolkit Admin Guide is all about the Software entity, and includes an example for adding your own software.

Take a look, and if you’re still stuck, let us know and we can answer any outstanding questions.

3 Likes

As far as I can tell, that screen looks fine. I’ve screen grabbed the two projects in question. You can see how one shows After Effects and one does not. I’m also still getting all those other products like Nuke, Mari, etc… despite them being disabled in ‘Software.’

4 Likes

Hi Byron –

Thanks for sending along those screenshots. They’re really helpful. I have a couple hunches; bear with me as I give some backstory:

• The launchers in Desktop are defined via the tk-multi-launchapp.
  • Whe you have a single instance of tk-multi-launchapp defined, with the use_software_entity setting set to true, Toolkit will go through all of the Software entities, evaluate what should be restricted or displayed for a given project based on the Project, Status, User Restrictions, etc fields, and create all the valid launchers in Desktop.