Customizing Publisher with templates

Hi all,

I’m kinda new to SG, and I’m still trying to figure out lots of things. So apologies in advance for any blasphemies I might be writing in this post!

I’m trying to customize my pipeline so that published files are handled unrelated from tasks.

I’ve created a PublishedItem custom entity to represents the items that I want to publish and that I want to keep track of.

I’ve added a “Published Items” field to the Task entity, and a “Tasks” field to the PublishedItem entity.

Basically the logic that I want to follow is:

work files - represent the evolution of Tasks [and are saved through tk-multi-workfiles2 ]

published files - represent the evolution of PublishedItems [and are saved through tk-multi-publish2 ]

And eventually I want to be able to keep track of dependencies between PublishedItems.

Now, I’ve edited the folder schema, the templates.yml and the various environment yml files to reflect these changes, but I still get errors whenever I try to publish something.

For the sake of this example, let’s say I’m using Maya and I’m working on an asset task (so I’m in the asset_step ).

I managed to correctly get the tk-multi-workfiles2 to save the task files in the right location.

Then, when I load the publisher, it automatically understands which context I’m in and passes it to the publish functions to resolve the template.

However, I’m having two issues at this point:

1. I want my published files to be organized by PublishedItem (and then versioned). This is defined in the templates.yml , but the publisher doesn’t know where to take this information from, as the ui does not let me choose any additional information. Should I change the code for the UI or is there some other way to pass on this information (i.e. through fields connected to the task)?
  2. When I click on the Publish button, it still saves a file in my maya_asset_work path (plus, it overwrites the latest version and creates a new one…)