Daily/version submission workflow?

Hello!

I’m new to this side of shotgun and could use a little help with the workflow for making daily (verison?) submissions.

Here’s what I’d like to do, off the top of my head:

• Artist has video file or directory of frame sequence for their daily they want to submit.

• Artist uses standalone tool from desktop to create a submission for that daily, filling out task/notes and submits.

• Shotgun takes that daily location, copies it to another path (our local shared drive) and uses that for the path_to_movie/path_to_frames field, then uploads and creates a version along with thumbnails.

Is this possible currently? I.e. is there already a standalone app that’s doing this, or capable of doing this with hooks I can tweak?
Do I need to create a custom app for this?

I’m also not exactly sure yet where RV and/or Shotgun Create comes into all of this. I can see I’m able to make submissions there that handles a lot of what I need, except moving the file to a shared location.

Sorry if these are obviously answered questions! I appreciate any help on this.

Cheers!
Jake

4 Likes

Hi @jake0,

Thanks for posting.

Not sure if it’s a pipeline integration topic or a Shotgun one, but anyway.
To submit your works for review, you could check out this doc below for all best practices. https://support.shotgunsoftware.com/hc/en-us/articles/219030378-Submitting-your-work
To sum it up, you could upload mov files on Web UI to create streamable versions, or use RV submit tool or submit in Shotgun Create, which records the path to mov or image sequence, no way to copy the file from artists’ workstation to a shared drive.