Preventing user from downloading movies

Hi,

I have a custom permission role for off-site editorial users to see live info relevant to them. However, because they are getting too trigger happy with updating the cut with versions that we haven’t officially share via the client review site, I’d like to disable the ability to download the movie for them.
All I can find though is turning off the visibility of the version’s “uploaded movie” field.


Will that work or should I be looking somewhere else?

Cheers,
frank

4 Likes

Hey Frank,
That won’t work, unfortunately. That will prevent them from playing back the media, but won’t prevent them downloading the file.
Right now, there’s no mechanism in place to prevent users from accessing the uploaded files if they’ve got access to your Shotgun Site. This might be something that you have to solve through workflow, I’m sorry.

2 Likes

Oh, that sucks. Can we put that in as a feature request please?

1 Like

Hey Frank, definitely! Here’s a thread with details for feature request discussion and submission.

2 Likes

done

1 Like