Security of the "View source file"

I am curious about the security of the “View source file” feature that appears when clicking on the gear button when viewing a Version in Overlay Player.

*Does that option pulls from the sg_uploaded_movie field or from some other Version path-field hierarchy?
*Is there a Permission Rule that can be written to disable that option for various Permission Roles?

4 Likes

In 8.11 was released the ability to control which users can view the source file for media. This is a separate options that is enabled per user (not per permission group).

Any users that have this option unchecked will not be able to see the following links:

Versions > Play > Settings > View source file…
Versions > Uploaded Movie field
Versions > Thumbnail > View Image
Files > File field
Notes > Attachments
Notes > Annotations > View in Lightbox Viewer > Settings > Download File

*That action pulls from the uploaded movie field.

5 Likes