Shared project configs

By default when you run the Toolkit advanced set up wizard for a project via Shotgun Desktop, you end up with a configuration created that is specific to that project. However, in certain setups you may wish to share your configuration with all your projects by default.

To do this you will need to setup a site-level distributed config.

  1. Find the configuration you want to use. You can use the latest tk-config-default2 config (which is the default when using the setup wizard) or you can use a config from an existing project. But if you do use a config from an existing project, you must clear out the following files:

  2. Now you need to decide where the config will live. It can either be uploaded to Shotgun, where it will be downloaded seamlessly in the background when the artist comes to work on the project, or you can store it on a network path. (There are other options as well, see the full list of descriptors) If your uploading it, just make sure you have zipped it up and move on to step 3, otherwise make sure it’s store in the desired location.

  3. Now on in your Shotgun site create a global PipelineConfiiguration page,
    All_Pipeline_Configurations
    Pipeline_Configuration_List

  4. On this new page create a new PipelineConfiguration entity with the following fields filled int:

    • Config name: Primary
    • Project: leave empty as we want it to apply to all projects
    • Plugin Ids: basic.*
    • Uploaded Config: If you are uploading your config, this is the field to upload your zipped config file. If you’re not uploading leave this blank.
    • Descriptor: Now this where you need to pick a descriptor to use. If your storing your config on your server location you would use a path descriptor something like this:
      sgtk:descriptor:path?linux_path=/path/to/config&mac_path=/path/to/config&windows_path=c:\path\to\config
      

  5. If your config has a schema (if it’s based off tk-config-default2 it will do) then you will also need to set the tank_name field value on your project, before you can use it with your configuration.Projects

Now all projects that don’t have a dedicated config will use this site config.
As a side effect, SG Desktop will also use this config, which means it won’t autoupdate unless you update your config.

5 Likes