Unable to delete a Project, only Archive

This may just be specific to my clients configuration, but I don’t seem to be able to delete a project, I’m only able to “archive” it.
I’ve trawled through the permissions for project entities and for my profile, but the ‘delete’ option on Projects is greyed out with “*custom” displayed next to it.
Any idea where I might be able to enable project deletion?
Thanks
p.

3 Likes

Hi Patrick!

We disabled project deletion (in the web UI) back in the 8.0 release because it didn’t provide a different user experience than archiving. Deleting (aka retiring) a project can take hours to perform and cause issues for the database because of all the cascading retirement that needs to happen. In most use cases, archiving should be enough. If you still really need to delete a Project, you can via the API.

Let me know if that helps explain the rationale behind the change, or if there’s any added clarification we can provide!

2 Likes

Ah thanks, I had a feeling something like that would be the cause.
I’m just writing some docs for a client and I wanted to start afresh with a new project of the same name, but it looks like that won’t work.
It also looks like changing the name of the old project, then creating a new project with the original name causes some issues with the pathcache. I seem to be digging a nice hole for myself here!
Thanks for the explanation anyhoo!
Cheers
p.

1 Like

I think I’ll delete the projects using the api… are there any risks involved? They are pretty much empty projects with just a few tasks and 1 or 2 entities.

Hey Patrick,

When deleting a Project, there’s not as much risk. The major issue in retiring a Project is that, like Foz mentioned, it can take a while to complete because of the cascading retirement. Even if the API call eventually times out, the retirement is a background job that will keep running (you’ll know that it’s finally complete when the Project itself eventually disappears from the UI). More issues can arise from trying to un-retire a project; this is where you can get yourself into trouble with (for example) connection entities that already exist and have uniqueness constraints, which would prevent the revival process from completing. As the db is constantly changing through use, the chances of painting yourself into a weird corner with Project revival increases over time.

I think it’s generally safe to say that Project deletion via the API is okay if you’re 100% sure that you never want to see the Project again and wouldn’t be a sad panda if you couldn’t revive it.

Hope that helps!

-tony.

3 Likes

I actually have a support request open for this 103857 as I find it annoying to have to go through the api when testing new configs. It’s not uncommon for people to create a test project to safely experiment with certain aspects, and those can just be deleted when done.
I’d prefer having a UI option again that is extra-super-diligent in triple checking that the user wants to delete a project (e.g. you have to type the name of the project do confirm it’s deletion).
Just taking this option away seemed like a regression to me.

Hey Frank,

I can totally see your use case for small tests. In that instance, if you’re determined, you could create an AMI that would retire a Project. That would keep you in the UI. :slight_smile:

-tony.

2 Likes

Hi Frank, thanks for posting this. As @brandon.foster says we currently disallow retiring projects as it was causing people a lot of grief when the projects were big (or if they tried to unretire them). I totally get what you’re saying about wanting to remove clutter.

Seems like we could find a slightly better balance that would better accommodate your situation. I’ll leave a note for us to look at this again.

4 Likes